top of page
Search
  • mbull231

Week 10 - The End

I have really enjoyed by time at Anderson Orr, and am so grateful for the opportunities that I had there. It was really sad saying goodbye to everyone who I feel I really got on with. I have learnt so much, especially skills I can now transfer to work next year and in the future. It has also taught me the way of office life, which was actually a lot better than I thought! There hasn't been a time where haven't enjoyed myself there, and I think the lovely staff are the reason for that.


So, in the past week I have been tying up the loose ends of the projects that I have been working on. It has felt like a pretty short week due to the bank holiday weekend, so I only worked 3 and a half days as its always a half day on Friday anyway. Once I got in on Tuesday, I went through the sanitary ware schedule with my supervisor Lewis, of which he had made some amendments to it. i spent a couple of hours touching it up. One of the bathrooms need to comply with Part M as it would be designed for disabled users, so I had to research and find suitable bathroom sanitary ware for this. I was then going over what sort of bath would be wanted in the bathrooms, as a rustic farmhouse look was the main aim for the style. I really enjoyed putting these together because it's just the sort of bathroom I would want at a hotel.



Lewis then asked me to look over some new plans for more possible accommodation on the same site, most likely for a longer term stay compared to the one nighters after a wedding. He had come up with some quick plans but needed a fresh eye to look over them. It is designed to be in a dutch barn, currently housing farming equipment. It is actually a really lovely space and would have such good potential. I sketched out a few ideas first, and then started changing them on Revit. I felt I had a lot of freedom with this, as it is still very much in Stage 1, so it was just playing around with ideas really.



Once I had done this, I spoke to Dom, one of my colleagues, who wanted me to do a bit of work for a project he was working on. He asked me to put some images together for house precedents. His clients were spending a lot of money on this site, and wanted something very contemporary but had been very vague on what they wanted. He was preparing a presentation to show them, which he wanted me to add to. I was given some ideas of the sort of thing to look at, such as house of the year etc. The client also wanted a 'party barn' for their children which would be located on the grounds. It was very interesting as I hadn't worked on a project like this, as all the housing I have done has been pretty traditional, this was far from this. I carried this on till Friday morning.



As it was only a half day, Lewis didn't want to give me any new work seeing as I was just about to finish. I scanned all the work I had done over the last ten weeks and then put them into files, ready to put on my design report ready to be written up this week before we hand in. I can honestly say this has been the best experience, and I'm so glad I did it! It has been so nice living back home and having a routine, but now it's back to uni!


I made a red velvet cake to say goodbye! It went down pretty well..


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page