top of page
Search
  • mbull231

Week 9 - Nearing the Finishing Line

Updated: May 9, 2019

As my second last week comes to a close, I am starting to feel a bit nostalgic about leaving work placement. I can't believe how quickly it has gone, as they say, time flies when you're having fun (without sounding too keen).


Due to one of my colleagues being on leave for three weeks as she is on her honeymoon, I managed to nab her desk, which is my favourite so far. It is downstairs where I first begun, and is located in quite a social space as there are six other staff members working round me in this part of the office. I have two screens again which I like as I can spread my work out and don't have to keep closing tabs. I will be staying here until I finish placement on the 10th May.


One of the highlights from this week was cake (surprise surprise), not one... but three! Joel had his birthday so brought these in which he had made, a chocolate one, ginger and spice and banana bread (chocolate was my favourite). A* star for effort.


Delish!

This week I have been doing more Revit layouts for the large country house and finalizing some of my ideas, as the director is going to be having a meeting with the client next week and going through the drawings I have produced. Here they will discuss whether they like the designs or not, and what needs to be changed, which happens in every project as nothing stays the same and plans change - just like development in university projects. The drawings I have produced are pretty rough layouts to show where the general furniture and sanitary ware will go, however it still does convey the general design and style of the space. The main space I designed was the sitting and dining room. They are both traditional but quite grand, so I researched layouts for similar sized rooms online and then drew up the furniture for the two rooms. Both of the rooms had big fireplaces which were pretty much the main focus of the room. I also did the en-suite bathrooms for the bedrooms upstairs which I have done quite a lot of so have got quite quick at doing them now.



Then on Friday (which was also bacon bap day!), I was given the task of writing up a sanitary ware schedule for Caswell House (wedding accommodation) for the en-suite bathrooms of the suites. My supervisor also showed me some work an interior designer did for them to go alongside the schedules, which were images of each product so the client knew what they were getting. I did this on Indesign on A3 pages, and just laid out a couple of images on each page with the description of them at the bottom. This involved the wall and floor finishes, ancillary fittings, taps etc.


The photos below are some of the work I have done this week, including sanitary ware schedules and the visual documents to go with it for the wedding accommodation and revit layouts for the large country house. Also some close ups of the cakes...


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page