top of page
Search
  • mbull231

Week 5 - Don't wait on cake

Updated: May 9, 2019



I have really enjoyed this last week of work. I feel I have settled in well and got on with the work I have needed to do. It started off by finishing off the downstairs toilets for the ground floor and deciding colours and wallpapers. I did a very quick photoshop edit for the bar toilet to saw what colour wallpaper would work well with the navy paint if it were to be that colour. I really liked the middle one, however it did come across as quite dark, even though this is sort of the style for this toilet as it is attached to the bar which also follows this theme. It will depend on what the client wants at the end, however I liked doing this to see if something could work or not.


I then moved onto the upstairs, which excited me a lot more as there was variation within the rooms. As I did last week, I was sketching out designs and then putting them into Revit. The main focus of this week was to design a walk in dressing room designed for the male client. I was shown previous work done by an interior designer of how to roughly lay it out, measurements etc. which was really helpful. So I did this for the remainder of the week, and decided how the space in the cupboards would be laid out. As for a man, it would be different compared to a woman, e.g. he will most likely need tie racks. We went with shaker doors, a traditional style to go with the rest of the house. I designed two options, one with double doors and then ones with single doors, we decided the single doors looked better (Alex and I). We also needed to make the decision whether we should put a window seat in, as this could be a place to also store shoes and be able to sit down, as the space was pretty narrow in between the cupboards. There would also be a console table or centre piece which would also act as storage. Having to decide if we needed to include a desk or not was interesting, as a man wouldn't necessarily sit at a desk to get ready in my opinion, however, his wife may want to use it at some point too, so it's all about deciding what is the most practical thing.


On Tuesday, one of my colleagues brought in a cake she had made for her birthday, and it was amazing. However, Harry, who sits opposite me decided he would save his until later, not realising it was quickly vanishing. He was pretty outraged to find out it had all gone, so lesson learnt is not to wait about when there is free cake lingering in the kitchen. We later found out a culprit had eaten two slices... which did not go down well.


Moving on, below I have shown the images on Revit before and after I added colour to my designs. It makes it a lot more visually pleasing for the client to see as well.


On Thursday, we had a CPD which I quite enjoyed listening to.. the others not so much. This is probably because they have to sit through so many but this was my first one. It was all about roof slate and where it comes from and how it should be used etc.


I have shown the quick sketches I did beforehand below for the dressing room. I wanted to get a quick idea before I put them into Revit. I look forward to next week as I am supposed to be working on some rendering with another colleague, so moving away from Revit for a bit.






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page