top of page
Search
  • mbull231

Week 6 - Eggtastic!



I have been carrying on with the large new build, designing the master bedroom and en-suite bathroom this week. Here I have shown the double vanity units for the bathroom, to the right is where I was getting my inspiration from. It would need to be slightly more sleek than the picture as this is a grand house, but the style of it still suited the house.


Also this week I have a new desk, as my old one is taken by another Architect who has been on leave, so now I am on the opposite one for this week whilst Harry is away. He has a very funky keyboard which I like. He has gone away to Wales, which is where I am going next weekend so I will be sure to put some pictures up of me white water rafting!



I've already made a mess of it!

I really like having a window next to my desk, as I like to be able to look outside when I'm working and not feel too trapped. It's good to give the eyes a break from time to time as you can find yourself staring a screen for over an hour without taking your eyes off it!


On Tuesday, I spoke to Paul, who does the visualisations for the company, and he wanted to show me a few skills for Photoshop which I was very grateful for. He explained how you can turn a simple rendered image into something completely different using some quick tricks and tools. I am pretty amateur on the program, so it was nice to actually scratch the surface of it. He let me play around on a render he had done of the hallway, where I added different furniture and colours to it. It showed how a space can be so different by just switching up the ornaments or lights. I have shown the original render and then mine with added furniture. I did do a couple more as well. I also did a quick mood board which Paul suggested doing before you have to warp the images as it gives a good idea if the furniture is going to work or not, so you don't have to put all the effort in and then find out after it doesn't work!

Then on Thursday I was given a job of adding cornicing and skirting to a large house refurb in the centre of Oxford, on Revit. I actually enjoyed this and found the day went quicker as I was really concentrating on doing something right. I definitely learnt a new skill doing this as I would never have known how to do it at Uni. Alex was extremely helpful as I was pestering him every five minutes on how to do something on it. Luckily he was very kind and didn't show he was annoyed by me being a nuisance even if he felt it!.


The images below are of the previous house I was working on and the floor plans for the hallway. The drawn on arrow shows the direction the camera was facing. It was also interesting to see floor plans other people have done other than my own at Uni, and I thought mine were quite tricky to do!!

And now not work related, I had two little friends come to play with me, and even had my self portrait done on an egg, it was pretty eggtastic!



Next week I have a week off for Easter, but I will be sure to keep posting once I am back in work!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page