top of page
Search
  • mbull231

Week Two - Getting Stuck In


Hello! This is my work station for the next few weeks. At the beginning of the week I thought I was going to start working on a new project, which I did for the first 2 hours on the Monday. I then had a talk with one of the directors who went through the work I had done in the previous week, and

asked me to change a few things. This was because he thought the layout I had done for the spaces wasn't quite right due to the nature of the building and what it was going to be used for. The accommodation is for wedding guests to stay in, so, for example, I put a large American fridge in the kitchen. This would never be needed, as guests would only probably stay one night, so would only need a small fridge. So, the director suggested I put in a small drinks fridge, as well as a concealed small fridge for the guests. It is the little details like this that is in important in these kind of spaces, and makes me really think about what the user needs. I also changed the mood boards, as the director said each page needs to convey one style, and to not confuse the client. So, I tried to make each page with one idea, with large clear images.


I worked on this project for a further few days, until Thursday I was back to the job I had been given on Monday. Due to the project being for a high-profile client I cannot say where it is and who it is for. However, what I can say is it is a new large country house build, and I was given the job of designing the toilets on the ground floor. I was shown the style of house it was with precedent images, and visualisations of the house to give me a good idea of what style the bathrooms needed to be. The first, most exciting one was the toilet attached to the large orangery bar room. The feel was meant to be almost 'exclusive members club' vibe, which needed to be carried on into the toilet. The focus was on dark colours with an almost art deco feel. However, the other two toilets were to be a more a traditional country style. One for the office, and one for the cloackroom attached to the hallway which guests would use. My main website to look for sanitary was Catchpole & Rye.. and until now I never realised I needed a free standing metal bath so much. The products are beautiful.. and expensive. Anderson Orr have great recommendations for different interior companies who they have used before which I have never heard of, which is great because I can use them as examples in my future projects.


Below shows precedent images I used to get a feel for the rooms, and then I put together pictures of the products that I actually wanted to use in which room, which I then put onto a sanitary-ware schedule.


The project below is the first one I worked on for the wedding guest accommodation. The Revit drawings below show the designs that were shown to the client for the first initial layout ideas for the kitchen, reception and master bedroom. These were later changed to fit the clients needs. Since I have done these drawings, my supervisor went for a meeting with the client about the project, which my drawings were also discussed. On Monday, we will go over this and set about what needs to be changed/done.


Two weeks in and I am still loving being in a working environment. It's really nice to be in a routine and have time off at the weekends. I don't miss uni yet!


Till next week!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page